socks with a character

It’s been two month since I’ve started spinning wool. First with a spindle and then on a spinning wheel. And I think I am getting better at it (it is not an ultimate goal -to produce perfect yarn,   because the process of spinning…well, I can’t describe it, it is certainly addictive and you have to try it yourself)

Anyway, these are the socks I’ve knitted using my first ever hand-made yarn ( spun on a very simple spindle).  It’s Gotland sheep wool (from Gamledags), silvery and silky, and the yarn is 2-ply as uneven as it could go. (But mostly just thick).  The white parts are handspun yarn as well.

The warmest socks I ever had and totally off-season, and after knitting these most industrial yarns feel…way too well-tempered and kind of anonymous .

2 responses to “socks with a character

Leave a Reply

