my not very steady (yet) relationship with indigo

few years ago, after discovering this and this sites, I got so inspired – I ran and bought myself a bottle of pure pigment (not a cheap stuff). But the  process seemed rather complicated , it required some additional chemicals etc,  I’ve got distracted by other things in life and finally totally forgot about it.

Recently this indigo thing has started peeping out again, I can feel it, it wants to be tried out. And since currently I am in …let’s call it “making things from scratch” mode,  I had to buy some indigo and woad seeds and try to grow my own dye stuff.

so here they are, growing in our greenhouse now, both woad and indigo

A month ago in our local library I unexpectedly found a book by Gösta Sandberg (history, inspirational images and all recipes for different indigo dying processes)

  

So I think, once days are warmer and while my natural blue dye is growing in the garden I might try the synthetic indigo  from my little bottle (on my homespun yarn? for ikat weaving? make some simple printing blocks and resist-dye?). We’ll see.

And just to round-up the whole thing – here are some pictures of beautiful  blue cloth from swedish museums 1, 2, 3, 4 (the last three are from Gösta Sanberg’s collection), by the way I am becoming a fan of digital museum databases.

P.S.   Japanese Textile workshop blog and Idigodye blog  – lots of indigo stuff.

2 responses to “my not very steady (yet) relationship with indigo

  1. avalooms May 17, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    You’ve made such a promising start here. Thanks for the links to the Swedish museum data bases, and good luck with your indigo. I hope you set up that loom, soon

    • Alfia May 19, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Thank you, Susan! Once the gardening subsides I will warp the loom. I am so inspired by your work (have been looking through your flickr pictures all spring), can’t just stop there, have to try to walk the road myself :)

Leave a Reply

