first woven cloth

nice to have an assistant when pre-threading the warp

the first edition of Laila Lundel’s Stora Vävboken is popular here

unpremeditated free stripe pattern in warp

tried tabby, 2/2 twill in different forms and  1/3 twill (plus some random pattern of weaving mistakes)

warp and weft: linen 16/2, reed 45/10,  90 ends per 10 cm. The cloth  turned out quite stiff,suitable for furniture upholstery, or a tablet, or a dishcloth, no drape in it whatsoever.

I haven’t decided yet what I will do with it (a bag?) At this stage I am mainly impressed by the only fact of this weaving (even that I have woven rag rugs before, it’s not the same thing), that it is actually possible to make something that looks like piece of cloth, that all that endless fiddling with so many threads works in the end :)

12 responses to “first woven cloth

  1. ulitasloom January 27, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    Very nice and very brave also to start out with a pure linen cloth. Love to play with twill!

  2. cathelinadialessandri January 28, 2013 at 8:40 am

    Wow, nice! I hope my first woven cloth looks as good! Have you tried washing it yet? I know linen softens up the more laundring (and abuse) it gets.

  3. saulene January 28, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    Аля, это настоящее волшебство, другого слова даже не найти :)))
    И так аккуратно, красиво, а про цвета даже не говорю! Поздравляю с почином тебя :)))

    • Alfia January 28, 2013 at 8:27 pm

      Спасибо, Лен! Это все лён потому что, он такой блескучий и гладкий :)
      Кстати, в долгоиграющей посылке как раз моточки этих самых ниток, и других немножко…

  4. Anne J Steves January 28, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    this is amazing! I love your cats enthusiasm too. My cat would be just the same.

    • Alfia January 28, 2013 at 8:22 pm

      Thanks for the support! This cat is a special textile cat , the other two totally ignore yarn and cloth, but this one won’t leave me alone, specially when I work with wool.

  5. Sonia (@cozymemories) January 30, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    Hello ! Thank you for finding me through Flickr (and for adding me to your contacts), I’m having the greatest joy discovering your universe, your beautiful cats & home, and your talented crafty skills ! I’ll be back for sure ! :) Warmly,

    • Alfia January 31, 2013 at 11:03 am

      Hello, Sonia,
      you don’t have to thank me, i love your beautiful nature pictures and wonderful candcrafted things and I want to learn natural dyeing, so you are a great inspiration to me!

Leave a Reply

