goose eye and other experiments

I decided to try a  point-draft on the second half of my linen  warp and I managed to thread it without mistakes, but it took me a while to get the treadling pattern right continuously – I found counting out loud to 22 works best for me :)   It’s a goose eye (gåsöga) all the way, (with some short-attention-span misses)

I printed out picture with the pattern from Jean’s wonderful blog (that’s how I got inspired to try this pattern on the first place) and had pinned it on my loom.

While thinking what to do with it and what to weave next,  knitted a pair of socks for my sister-in-law, her choice of color – Ticiano red.

pattern: Basic Ribbed Socks , yarn Malabrigo sock.

almost finished knitting my handspun cardigan:

And in between of all that have been trying to spin Suri alpaca from Österlen (Christmas present from my man)

The fleece and fiber sourcebook recommends to spin it worsted, so I am trying to comb it (and I never combed any wool before)

it get’s extremely static and flies all over the place  (needs constant spraying with anti-static)

Combing separates it in two fractions  – white long-lustrous-silky roving  and greyish-cream unstructured fluff.

(I don’t know if it’s the best way to process this sort of alpaca, the amount of  information I could find on the net is not overwhelming, to put it softly. And I don’t know if the combs I bought are so good and suited for just this type of fiber).

Anyway, I tried spinning the combed stuff  – once you get hold on it (quite slippery) and remember to spin it with high twist,  it results in compact but soft and silky thread.

 

Here is good video on combing and spinning alpaca  and here is another video on combing wool.

10 responses to “goose eye and other experiments

  1. jschubertdesigns February 18, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    That’s funny….. I thought that I was the only one counting as I weave!
    But what’s really funny is when you’re done weaving and yet you are still counting!
    I’ve found myself brushing my teeth and thinking….. one two three four, etc.
    Lovely goose eye …… what will it be?

    • Alfia February 18, 2013 at 10:40 pm

      thank you! I haven’t decided yet what I will make out of it.
      I’ve come to counting empirically – that’s the only method that (suddenly) worked, I didn’t know weavers do it. It was quite a short warp, otherwise I might also contunued counting long afterwards :)

  2. opusanglicanum February 18, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    its quite spiffy, I love colour changes in a patterned weave

  3. Quimper Hitty February 25, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    When I read your post carefully I found my way to “Jean’s wonderful blog” where (after I lost myself for a delightful while) I discovered I know her and we live in the same town! What a fluke! Thank you!! I am going to consult her about my next project as I have been asked to do a one-tenth scale dollhouse rug in red and white ripsmatta for someone wanting it for their Carl Larsson doll house!

    • Alfia February 25, 2013 at 4:20 pm

      WOW! You made me very happy :) And lucky both of you who live in the same town, I wish I lived nearby too and could have a look on all those exciting projects you both do, not just pictures on the net!

  4. saulene March 3, 2013 at 9:45 am

    Такого красивого цвета носки! И на этом синем фоне очень даже как-то по-японским смотрятся, вот почти как картина про красную Фудзи )))

    На последней фотографии пряжа выглядит воздушной и мягкой, очень нежной, хочется в нее уткнуться носом сразу!

    Но больше меня восхищает, когда ты все это успеваешь, учитывая, что ты еще и полный рабочий день работаешь! )

    • Alfia March 3, 2013 at 1:59 pm

      да, мы с ней (сестрой Бу) долго выбирали цвет, для нее такой цвет – как для нас с тобой глубокий синий с бирюзовым оттенком :)
      Но на белом или нейтральном фоне он вышел совсем скучным, поэтому решила мою любимую тряпочку подложить.

      Пряжа очень шелковистая, да, хотя процесс ее изготовления совсем не быстрый :)

      Да ну, это ж сборные картинки нескольких недель, к тому ж у меня всегда несколько параллельных проектов сразу и иногда они заканчиваются с небольшим отрывом :)
      и м.б. режим деньгозарабатывания 8-17 способствует фокусированию энергии, типа, “свободное-то время уж я потрачу с удовольствием!” (не пылесосить же и не телевизор смотреть, в самом деле :)

  5. saulene March 3, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Да-да, обратная сторона избытка свободного времени, что к нему сначала привыкаешь и не можешь поверить, что его вот стоооооолько, а потом оно начинает очень легко распыляться почему-то, даже если дома нет телевизора )))) концентрация количества сделанного в единицу времени снижается, как-то дольше смотришь в окно просто или медленнее все делаешь, даже не знаю )

    • Alfia March 3, 2013 at 3:43 pm

      ага, замечаю такой феномен во время отпуска или долгих выходных :)
      может быть, “объем работ” – это такая более-менее постоянная величина, а время исполнения меняется в зависимости от того, сколько у человека свободного времени :) вообще, это здорово, когда есть возможность делать что-то медленно и с перерывами на смотрения в окно, я – за медлительность :)

Leave a Reply

