Fristad

I am having a lot of fun!  I have enrolled in a year-long distance course in weaving at Fristads folkhögskola. We meet at school once a month for theory lessons, to get assignments and show and discuss the previous ones.

As a first homework we had to weave in black wool singles as warp and the same wool alternated with linen weft in different densities, as balanced as possible.

Training in beating technique and in being present during the process. And then we had to wash the pieces in washing machine at different temperatures to study the shrinkage.

weaving with black on black is not easy for the eyes, but it makes you look at the weaving more closely and carefully.

One of my clumped pieces after washing :)

we could experiment with the rest of the warp as we wished, so i tried  checked “myggtjäll” (swedish lace) in different variations and colors.

after hand-washing:

the wool is Farö (6000m/kg, 12 wic), surprisingly strong, not a single thread went off, and quite soft after washing.

6 responses to “Fristad

  1. Puushumlan ;-) October 27, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    Very beautiful pieces you made! And the name itself, myggtjäll, makes it worth trying :)

  2. ulitasloom October 27, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    I would sign up for a course like this with my eyes closed.
    Very beautiful results. Looking forward to seeing more.

  3. maliz October 28, 2013 at 11:11 am

    I can imagine, that you have a lot of fun and I envy you!
    Unfortunately I´m not in Sweden the whole year so that it wouldn´t be possible for me to go to the meetings.
    I hope you let us participate in this interesting course again.
    Have a nice week.
    maliz

    • Alfia October 28, 2013 at 3:28 pm

      Hi Maliz, thank you!
      Fristad’s distant-course is the nearest option for me when it comes to a weaving course, wish I could go there full-time, but of course I am very happy even for this arrangement. I will keep my blog updated, have a nice week you too!

Leave a Reply

