finished shawl

(I am several weeks behind with my blogging, but I am working on it!)

Quite a generous shawl it is.

24 responses to “finished shawl

  1. Erda December 17, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Круто! Очень красиво, мои восхищения… )

  2. Pia December 17, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    Can I ask how wide it is? Considering a rigid heddle loom sometime along the way.

    • Alfia December 17, 2013 at 8:08 pm

      just measured – 58 cm, after handwashing. Started with 68 on the loom.

      • Pia December 18, 2013 at 8:35 am

        Thanks! That didn’t really help me, since I’m wondering about a 60 cm loom at the largest, but that’s no fault of yours! :) I suppose I’d have to doubleweave to get a wide shawl.

      • Pia December 20, 2013 at 11:51 am

        I was quite surprised with your shrinkage, btw! 10 cm is a lot, and something to consider before deciding!

    • Alfia December 20, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      yes, Pia, it shrinks quite a lot, I counted for 10% after-wash shrinkage when i started, plus the natural tension of the weft on the loom (I mean – the cloth after cutting it off the loom and before washing is few centimeters narrower than the width of the warp on the loom, in swedish it’s called “invävning”, don’t know the english term..) And then I guess the quality of the yarn and how you wash the finished piece plays a role too.
      may be you could do a little sample first to see how your yarn behaves and see what initial width you’d need…

      • Pia December 20, 2013 at 12:50 pm

        Ah, but I’m still trying to decide on the width of the loom to buy! But you have taught me that thinking in terms of “60 cm loom makes 55 cm cloth” simply is a daydream. ;-) Well, I’m glad I didn’t get a 40 cm loom, since after a wash I guess I’d have ended up with just belts! A rigid heddle is all I have room for at present time, but they say they are difficult to use over 60 cm. So now I’ve ordered a library book on doubleweave, to find out if that is too complicated for me. Otherwise I’ll have to seam wide objects!

        The density of your wrap seems so perfect, it must take some practise to make it loose enough on the loom to accomodate the finished object! Sampling indeed!

    • Alfia December 20, 2013 at 1:06 pm

      yeah, i did some sampling with different reeds before i started on the whole shawl.
      here’s a nice loom for 1 danish krona:
      http://www.dba.dk/vaev-kaempevaev-gives-bort-gr/id-1005047757/
      just kidding :)

      • Pia December 20, 2013 at 1:10 pm

        Hahaha – well, if it could live in the barn, I’d be tempted! I’ve already cancelled the living room with craft supplies, I doubt my husband would take kindly to having to sleep in the garage…

  3. Anonymous December 18, 2013 at 11:52 am

    Så fin och så unik! (precis som du)
    God jul
    önskar magdalena

  4. Quimper Hitty December 18, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    I like the really lovely subtle patterns and colour combination, and it looks so cosy and elegant at the same time.

    Kjerstin

  5. saulene December 18, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    Роскошная!!! )))
    В такую закутаться целиком – мммм, хорошо!
    Поздравляю тебя с первой большой вещью! :)))

    • Alfia December 18, 2013 at 9:46 pm

      пасиб-пасиб! удалась шалька, ага, большая и теплая :)
      теперь можно смело развивать шарфово-шалевую тему дальше.

  6. lara50 December 18, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    востог!!!

  7. cyndy December 22, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    Lovely! Very nice weaving!!

Leave a Reply

