new as old

some mending has been going on around here

second generation of patches on my man’s woodworking jeans

My warmest socks needed some mending too

I improvised on the basis of  this tutorial for darning socks.

and quite happy with the results!

10 responses to “new as old

  1. Lena A February 16, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Oh, much more advanced and nice looking sock mendings than mine :) I noticed your nice ‘stoppsvamp’. I bought mine a couple of years ago and I am so happy for it!

    • Alfia February 16, 2014 at 10:28 pm

      it’s the first time ever i mended socks by the rule, so to say, my grandma used to just “free-knit” some sort of patch on a sock and that’s the only way I new.
      I bought my stoppsvamp a couple of years ago too, and I finally have used it :) It’s a great device :)

  2. Anonymous February 17, 2014 at 9:55 am

    Аля, джинсы очень клевые получились! Особенно сеточкой штопка красивая! :) Я недавно НН тоже на рабочие джинсы понаставила заплаток, надо будет тебе показать, обменяться результатами (но у меня не так изящно всё и пока пришивала, все пальцы исколола :)))))

    • Alfia February 17, 2014 at 12:13 pm

      Спасибо :) Джинсы Бу становятся всё толще и пушистей от заплаток:)
      Ты показывай тогда свои тоже! :)
      Пальцы – да, понимаю тебя, я всё думаю надо мне сшить напальчники (или как это называется) из кожи чтоли, потому что наперстки какие-то неудобные совсем.

  3. Quimper Hitty February 17, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    I have my grandmother’s “darning egg” which works quite well, but I like the coiled wire place-holder on yours…

    • Alfia February 17, 2014 at 3:52 pm

      It’s the first time I used such construction with wire place holder and it’s actually quite convinient. My grandmas used an ordinary old light-bulb for these purposes.

  4. Heather Cameron February 18, 2014 at 8:28 am

    Your work is absolutely incredible – I read down through the previous posts. You are certainly making the most of your new career!

  5. Annika February 27, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    Great work! /Annika

Leave a Reply

