Gröna trasor / green rags

Our very last school assignment before it all ends this week (it’s kind of hard to believe, but it’s true)  – a rug in any material, size  and form.

Since rugs are not so popular in our house (mostly because of an old cat with poor digestion) I am weaving a “flying carpet” for the garden instead – a rag-hummock.

Tabby with some rosepath stripes

(I made black and white warp stripes only because I didn’t have enough of the green).

Thank to this project we (my family and me) have assembled the second-hand loom I bought half a year ago –  an Öxabäck, in Sweden it  is considered to be ” loom of the looms” , this one is huge – 150 cm weaving width and it takes all the free space in our guest room. Come and be our guest :)

Everything in this loom is so smart and smooth! Ulla Zyrus-Zetterström, who constructed this loom- is genius.

I have another meter to go and hope for a nice summer!

8 responses to “Gröna trasor / green rags

  1. cyndy May 13, 2014 at 12:43 am

    What a fabulous loom!!!! …love the flying carpet!

  2. Lena A May 13, 2014 at 5:23 am

    Beautiful green. I hope for many relaxing days in this.

    • Alfia May 13, 2014 at 9:13 am

      Thanks! And you know how it is with gardening – we have stopped taking out garden furniture for summer, because we never “sit” while being out, so we’ll see about this hammock :)

  3. maliz May 14, 2014 at 10:42 am

    Congratulations to your wonderful loom.
    I know that situation.
    When I bought my first loom, it was “only” a Glimåkra-Ideal, weaving-width 1 m, we lived in a very smal flat in Cologne. It had only a kitchen and two rooms and the loom took all the space of one of them, so we had to creep together in the other.
    I´m sure we´ll get a fine summer and hope that you can enjoy your flying carpet pretty soon.

    • Alfia May 16, 2014 at 8:39 am

      Thank you, Maliz! Two years ago I would not understand why one would need more than one loom, now I own four…Right now this is the absolute limit for our house.
      It looks like it’s starting to warm up properly, let’s hope it stays like this for a while.

  4. onesmallstitch May 14, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    oh, to dream the summer away in your beautiful hammock. I seldom sit while out in the garden, too many weeds to pull. Enjoy!

    • Alfia May 16, 2014 at 8:45 am

      Thanks, Jean. I almost never sit, become restless at the sight of all the weeds, but I have hope that’s it easier to relax while lying in the hammock – you kind of look up more than around and it’s more difficult to get up!

Leave a Reply

