wool distraction

I am back  from my self-proclaimed and self-indulgent summer holiday. I have spent it mostly sitting in the garden and carding and spinning wool.

handspun yarns

Last autumn my father-in-law left two huge sacks of wool in our garage.
Unsorted, unwashed, from unknown breed, full of straw and dirt,  “just wool”.

I’ve decided to have a look at it (and may be try to sort it) mostly because those sacks take space in the garage, I thought I don’t have time to process it.
wool

All the possible colors and fiber qualities.

wool

I have never tried to sort wool before, after throwing away 2/3 of it I still have 10 kg left, at least, may be more.

washing wool

Since it ‘s been exceptionally warm and dry weather I have been washing the wool outside in the garden – soaking in cold water for a few hours and then drying on a net.
drying wool

I liked this kind of washing (contra – warm water with detergent) because while all the dirt and dust is removed – the lanolin remains, staples remain almost intact, which makes it very easy to spin.

carding

Carding and spinning in the garden  is so much more convinient than in the house –

all the debris is left outside.  (I am very happy with my Strauch drum carder).

spinning

I wanted  just to try to spin one color, but ended up spinning for many days – talk about easily distracted.
yarn

First I thought I could use the yarn for weaving blankets in all those beautiful natural colors, but now I realise that most of the fleece is double-coated – mixture of both fine wool and coarse hair , “peasant” sort of wool,  which in the end makes it more suitable for carpet-weaving.

But I still like the colors, here are some:
handspun yarns

Ah, may be it will become a carpet one day – rölakan-style little carpet….(I have spun only one kilo, I think I would need at a couple of kilos more) . We’ll see.

Well, it’s been a real summer wool-camp for me :) Now the summer weather is (totally) over here and I am back to my weaving loom.

16 responses to “wool distraction

  1. shadowlilies August 17, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Great post! I love seeing your beautiful work and how you do it. Gorgeous colors…it’s truly amazing how varied these natural colors are.

  2. webkante August 17, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    That`s a summer wool camp i after my fancy! Wonderfull colors and pretty results!

  3. Elisabet August 17, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    I’m impressed! Well done.

  4. lena August 17, 2014 at 8:17 pm

    I like the carpet plan, with those beautiful colours. I have a carpet plan in my head too, as you know, a Gute carpet.

    • Alfia August 17, 2014 at 8:42 pm

      I was thinking about you and your Gute sheeps while spinning this wool. Natural sheep colors ARE very special. And the carpet is totally possible project, one just needs time :)

  5. sonja August 17, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    So nice to think of long days of summer in the garden with the wheel spinning. :)

  6. onesmallstitch August 18, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    the soft natural colours are like a meditation for our eyes, your spinning is beautiful. lovely way to spend a summer.

  7. Lillemor (Ullemor) August 20, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    Lovely yarn! and a summer the way I’d like it to be…

  8. Heather August 31, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Wow, what a fantastic spinner you are. I’m so glad you had a lovely summer.

Leave a Reply

