a goat from Pamir mountains

one day i went to the post-office and fetched a package that looked like this:

Untitled

This is how posted parcels looked like in f. Soviet Union when I was little – you were supposed to sew it all in a white cloth with white thread and postal lady would seal it with brown pitch stamps. And they still look like that in Tajikistan. Because this parcel is from my former gene bank colleague from Dushanbe! I worked there on the Tajik gene bank development project three years ago. Together with the most hospitable, generous and kind people in the world.

And now they send me 2 kg of local goat fiber! (they kept asking me what I want and I said that little piece of some local wool would be perfect)

IMG_20150131_123201Untitled

It is softest and fluffiest kid mohair. First I quickly ran it on a drum carder and then comb with my mini-combs

IMG_20150215_152526

First portion of the yarn
IMG_20150306_120814

Heavy, smooth and silky stuff.
I am thinking of a large woven  throw-plaid sort of a thing (I would need three times more yarn) , we’ll see.

33 responses to “a goat from Pamir mountains

  1. Quimper Hitty March 17, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    It looks so soft, what a wonderful gift,

  2. fernwoodnursery March 17, 2015 at 3:10 pm

    I Love that packaging! It’s like the new tradition of wrapping things in bees wax! And the goat fiber inside, delicious! I keep considering the possibility of adding another angora goat to the mix here, along with my sheep flock, of course I would need one white goat and one silvery grey, If I do this, I’ll send you some fiber, wrapped in cloth and tied with string! The best. Beautiful yarn by the way, will you dye it? Project in mind? Thanks for sharing, denise

    • Alfia March 17, 2015 at 3:37 pm

      I had to google about bees wax wrapping – i have missed that – thank you for enlightening me on the newest package material! What an exciting thing! Keeping goats and sheeps has been my dream for the few last years, I envy you with your sheeps! I will envy you even more if you get a couple of goats. Goats are great fun, even if they are mischievous and smart little beasts. You are very kind – wanting so send me presious angora fiber. I will send you back something made out of it then.
      I want to try to dye it, just to test and see. If i manage to spin some more of it soon I weave a thin blanket or

    • Alfia March 17, 2015 at 3:46 pm

      Oh, sent my comment before finishing – a blanket or a scarf is in my mind. Thank you for peeping in here.

  3. Pia March 17, 2015 at 3:46 pm

    Oh wow, shiny! What an amazing gift.

  4. Marie-Josée March 17, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    Oh, such a beautiful package… Inside and out! : ) Where did you get this drum carder, and the other beautiful instrument? I would really like to know. Thank you.

    • Alfia March 17, 2015 at 7:29 pm

      Thanks! There are many carders on the market, mine is this one http://www.strauchfiber.com/dc_finest_manual.php
      I bought it via shop in Denmark, they have dealers in some other countries, but not in Sweden where I live.
      it is for fine wool and fiber, they have different carders for different fibers and purposes.
      And the spinning wheel is Kromski Minstrel
      http://www.kromski.com/spinning,49.html
      I bought it in Sweden, I think they have dealers everywhere now.
      Hope it is been to help!

      • Marie-Josée March 19, 2015 at 12:32 am

        Thank you for the information and for the links, Alfia. I appreciate it! Just so you know, I haven’t been posting on my blog for more than a year, and wasn’t ready to close it and erase everything, so I just changed its status to private. Don’t take it personal if I don’t add you as a follower, there just isn’t much to see there anymore. Plus, it only lived a couple months, and was written in french… But see you around here! : )

    • Alfia March 19, 2015 at 9:14 am

      Marie-Josée, it is totally OK that your blog is private and you won’t add me as follower, you don’t even have to explain it. And I will be very happy if you peep in here wherever you want and ask or say something. I am glad you found the links useful.

      • Anonymous March 20, 2015 at 5:14 am

        Thank you for understanding. But it really isn’t a private blog. I just decided to close it, and not feed it anymore. If I ever start a new one though, I’ll send you an invitation for sure!

  5. jschubertdesigns March 17, 2015 at 4:49 pm

    What a wonderfully thoughtful gift!
    The fiber is so soft and fluffy looking….. and the yarn you spun is simply beautiful!

  6. Febr12 March 17, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    Wow, once again it’s so impressive to see the progress between the first and the last picture. That spun yarn looks so soft and so beautifully spun. :-)

  7. ulitasloom March 17, 2015 at 10:46 pm

    What a pity we can´t touch it!
    Beautiful!

  8. sonja March 18, 2015 at 2:27 am

    What a unique package, thank you for your sharing.

  9. Lena March 18, 2015 at 5:35 am

    Wonderful gift.

  10. amanda March 18, 2015 at 4:38 pm

    Wow! What a beautiful gift and wonderful packaging. When I was in India last year I think I sent four packages home, and they were always wrapped in cloth and then sealed with wax. It looks like it comes from a different time, not a different country!

    Your spun fiber is very lovely – I have spun with a wheel only once and I am looking forward to trying it again, properly. I’d love to use it in my weaving. How about using yours as a pattern weft in an overshot/drall type weave? That would allow you to use a cotton or linen warp, and mean you don’t need as much of your handspun. :)

    • Alfia March 18, 2015 at 9:56 pm

      I feel quite nostalgic about that kind of packaging, the cloth could be washed and re-used for another parcel and also I remember that postal staff would get very happy when people brought back used peeled off wax seals, which could be melted again and re-used – as frugal as it can go! It is another time!

      Thank you! To tell you the truth I got so fixed on the idea of weaving something of handspun yarn that I never even thought about using something else for a warp, I will think about it, specially overshot!
      Thank you for stopping by here and letting me to discover your blog and wonderful things you are making!

      • Amanda Rataj March 19, 2015 at 3:16 pm

        There’s nothing wrong with being that kind of frugal – I wish we were more used to doing that today! I kept all the wrappings from my Indian packages – stamped (rubber and postage), handwritten all over, drippy wax and string… They are wonderful objects.

        I’m a bit obsessed with block weaves right now, so it seems a logical suggestion for me to make. Thanks for taking a look at my little space. I’ve been watching yours for a while but I’m not a big commenter ;)

      • Alfia March 19, 2015 at 3:59 pm

        After having seen your wonderful blankets – block weaves are on my “want to do” list. I am not a big commenter either :)

  11. onesmallstitch March 18, 2015 at 10:16 pm

    lovely, it looks like angel hair and will be soft and warm for a blanket/wrap. In Canada the P.O. won’t take parcels tied with string!

    • Alfia March 19, 2015 at 9:22 am

      It is very soft fiber, but it becomes extremely strong yarn, unbreakable. I saw you had some mohair fiber in your stash, what would you make out of it?

      In Canada they probably have more strict safety regulations – in case string goes off and things get tangled or something. Even though string makes parcels easier to handle for postal people.

  12. Heather April 3, 2015 at 8:06 am

    Wow what a treasure. So lovely.

  13. Heather May 28, 2015 at 5:56 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous – superb spinning!

  14. Verónica May 29, 2015 at 3:27 am

    The sheen is gorgeous. What a great gift and I really liked the interesting packaging.

Leave a Reply

